• Hello there guest and Welcome to Fox Body Mustangs forum, This forum is intended to be used by enthusiasts of the Fox body Ford Mustangs (1979-1993)!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

Epa4eye

So, I’m pretty new to the foxbody game and I started having some trouble with my ‘85 carbed 302. It all started with a rough idle which would cause the motor to stall. I adjusted the idle mixture screws on the carb and I was able to correct the idle. I then noticed that the pcv valve was sucking in A LOT of air, whether it was idling or in gear driving down the street. While I was under the hood adjusting the idle screws, I decided to change the oil, install a new pcv valve (it was still sucking a lot of air), and new spark plugs (old spark plugs were semi fouled and had a little bit of oil on them). THEN, after driving the car a little down the block, I went to turn it on again after it was already warmed up, and it started making a loud cranking/grinding noise. Almost as if the transmission was grinding it’s gears at the same time it was cranking, and when I take the key out, it continues to crank and grind!! Please help lol

broncojunkie

The cranking/grinding thing is most likely the starter relay sticking OR the starter itself. It could audio be your ignition switch, but that doesn't normally cause this issue (still possible). To rule out the ignition switch, try this: Assuming you had to unhook the battery to get the cranking to stop, simply remove the small trigger wire from the stud on the starter relay (inner passenger fender). If you can hook the battery back up and it's not cranking, either the relay or starter freed up on its own or it was the ignition switch. If you hook the wire back up (key out of the ignition) and it starts cranking again, it's most likely the ignition switch.