• Hello there guest and Welcome to Fox Body Mustangs forum, This forum is intended to be used by enthusiasts of the Fox body Ford Mustangs (1979-1993)!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

Opinions plz

Wayne86

Ok..my plans have changed.
I'm still using explorer block.
I've bought 4v flattop pistons.
I've also aquired a set of AFR 165 with 1.7 crane rockers.
Using stock cam with them heads and rockers..will I have any problems.
My concern is that heads have double spring with 550 or 600 max lift.
Next and I know I'm probably beating a dead horse lol.. but any suggestions about pushrods and wheres best place to find the harding pushrods.
I've bought a pushrod length tool but this is my first time doing this and want to get right.
Thanks

broncojunkie

You shouldn't have any issues with the valve springs or piston-to-valve clearance, but I would always suggest checking clearance first. It only takes 30 minutes and a bit of play-doh.

You can buy hardened pushrods in just about any length you want from Summit or Jegs. There are several youtube videos out there to make it easy. Spend the time to get it right. Throw one of the used pushrods in there and see if the length works. I've had luck going that route with some aftermarket heads. Just don't be tempted to run them. You'll need hardened pushrods if your heads use stud-mounted rockers.

If you haven't already, you'll want to try and figure out your compression ratio with the heads and pistons you're using. The AFR heads are available in different size chambers and the pistons can vary even more. Is just good to know before buttoning everything up. I believe Summit has a calculator on their website.

Wayne86

I haven't done a compression calculation yet..I haven't got engine together yet and I don't know all the info I need to do calculator.