• Hello there guest and Welcome to Fox Body Mustangs forum, This forum is intended to be used by enthusiasts of the Fox body Ford Mustangs (1979-1993)!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

New to Fox Body - A Hot Mess

GLENN W.

Hello all - I'm new to Fox Body 'Stangs but I had a '69 that I sold when I got married 30 years ago (sound familiar?). I bought a non-running '73 to flip a few weeks ago, sold the 302 out of it, but as for the rest of the car, the best offer I got was to swap it for a '87 2.3 L automatic convertible. The '87 is all there, but will need the motor gone through, new blue interior, with white seats, new top (currently black but would look better in white), a passenger door, minor body work to repair dings here and there, and fresh coat of Oxford White.

I was going to flip the '87 but now I'm not so sure! She's a hot mess, but I might be falling in love. I can see swapping the old 2.3 for a modern 300 HP 2.3 and cruising with my granddaughter in the front and my yellow lab in the back. Maybe even giving the car to my granddaughter in 8 years when she turns 16. (Reason #1 not to put a 5.0 if I swap engines.)

I'm still trying to decide what to do. With all the horse trading I only have $700 in the car as she sits. I'm guessing I can get $1500 to $2000 if I sell her. I'm guessing 10 grand and 3 of 4 years of doing a little at a time to restore the car to her former glory.

If I post again, that means I have chosen an abusive relationship over good sense - and I'm sure I will need a lot of therapy on this forum in the future :)

broncojunkie

I've been wanting to do the (new) 2.3 swap for a while now. I figure the motor and transmission wouldn't be too awfully expensive, but I haven't checked. I know rebuilding a run-of-the-mill 302/351w can easily go several thousand dollars, so a 2.3 swap seems feasible.

Erkenbrand