• Hello there guest and Welcome to Fox Body Mustangs forum, This forum is intended to be used by enthusiasts of the Fox body Ford Mustangs (1979-1993)!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

Confused about spark plug gap/timing on 87

MuricMustang

(I am new to foxbodys FYI) So I bought this 87 mustang its got a cam a little machine work done and heads. I am confused about the following things.

- the timing is at 10BTDC (thought it should be like 12-14?)
- spark plugs are gapped at 0.60 (thought it should be 0.54?)
- he said to only run 91 octane in it (why would this matter if it isn't tuned?)

I have never seen this and im a little confused to why these are the way they are. Any ideas would be appreciated.

That spark plug gap seems excessive but when I tried .50-0.54 it ran like crap, same when I tried to bump the timing up slightly.

Blueknights75

Congratulations on your fox body purchase!
Has your Fox been swapped over to Mass Air or is it still Speed Density?
My 87 is pretty much stock minus a cold air intake and flowmasters. You are absolutely correct that the factory spark plug gap recommendation is .54 and the timing from the factory was set to 10 degrees TDC. I bumped my timing up to 12 degrees and only run premium fuel. I am sure someone with more knowledge pertaining to the engine mods you have done will chime in to help.

broncojunkie

If your car has heads (or head work done), chances are they are smaller chamber for increased compression. The higher octane requirement is to deter detination. This is particularly true with iron heads. Aluminum dissipates heat a little better, which means (in theory) you can run a little more timing or lower octane, although, the higher octane stuff is always a good safeguard when you increase compression.