• Hello there guest and Welcome to Fox Body Mustangs forum, This forum is intended to be used by enthusiasts of the Fox body Ford Mustangs (1979-1993)!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

New from Texas, Wanting to Fix My Dad's '79

changstang

Hey!

I'm a young man trying to fix up my dad's 79 Mustang. I know little to nothing about cars in general but I really really want to get the car running again and call it my own. I love the Fox body and this car has meaning to me. I'd appreciate any suggestions and/or help I can get. I'm new to this but very excited...

It's a 2.3l 4 cylinder turbocharged 1979, nothing was wrong with it except that it just sat in the garage for around 20 years without a start. I heard that carburetor engines were not too reliable, so I wanted to drop a v8 into it, but a lot of people advised me to just see if it will run first. Thoughts? Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• mustang79.jpg
    mustang79.jpg
    643.2 KB · Views: 7

Blown347

Staff member
Welcome!

I'd advise the following to try: replace the battery, coil, plugs, plug wires, cap and rotor. Change the oil and filter and the coolant. You will also need to change the fuel filter and flush the tank and put new fuel in it (assuming the tank hasn't rusted inside.)

If it doesn't start with those then we can go through a checklist and help you get it fired up.

changstang

Welcome!

I'd advise the following to try: replace the battery, coil, plugs, plug wires, cap and rotor. Change the oil and filter and the coolant. You will also need to change the fuel filter and flush the tank and put new fuel in it (assuming the tank hasn't rusted inside.)

If it doesn't start with those then we can go through a checklist and help you get it fired up.