• Hello there guest and Welcome to Fox Body Mustangs forum, This forum is intended to be used by enthusiasts of the Fox body Ford Mustangs (1979-1993)!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

89 mustang won't run help plz

89lx5.0

Ok guys I'm new to the forum so any help much appreciated. So I just got my 89 lx 5.0 and supposed to be all new built motor. Guy says it ran hot but it was all checked by machine shop and rebuilt. Has e303 cam 351 heads, gt40 intake with spacer. Bigger throttle body and eye spacer. I've tried and tried to crank her and it just slightly hits and nothing. A few times I've had the pedal to the floor and it took a while but it crank and ran for a minute. Then when it will crank up it doesn't really want to stay running till it's warm. It has fuel and spark and I'm just stumped. I'm relatively new to the 5.0 but always loved a mustang. Any help will be much appreciated guys!!!

John2002

Sounds like it not timed right??? Check the plugs to see if they are on the right way??? Do you hear the fuel pump built up pressure when you turn the key to "ON"??? The picture of mine is about 5 year old, the placement of that TFI Module should be pointing about 5 o'colck if your looking staright down. The TFI module that large bar connected by a wire loom just below the bottom of the distributor. I'd try there first, there is a fuel pump kill switch in the rear left part of the car just behind the tail light inside the trunck of the car. Prees that buttom down, it if doen't "CLICK" it is good.

Attachments

• 2010-06-08_162759_1.gif
    2010-06-08_162759_1.gif
    5.1 KB · Views: 8
  • J2560x1920-01691.jpg
    J2560x1920-01691.jpg
    717.9 KB · Views: 8
  • J2560x1920-01691.jpg
    J2560x1920-01691.jpg
    80.6 KB · Views: 8
Last edited:

broncojunkie